WIN DRR Global Leadership Awards 2023 Nominations are now OPEN

The nominations for the 2023 WIN DRR Leadership Awards are now open! Nominate yourself or others for:

  • The Rising Star Award: Granted to an individual woman who has demonstrated leadership potential early in her career. 
  • The Excellence Award: Proudly supported by SM Prime Holdings Inc. and granted to an individual woman who has achieved exceptional professional success in DRR.


The WIN DRR Leadership Awards recognise women’s achievements in disaster risk reduction across the Asia-Pacific region. The awards are part of UNDRR’s flagship women’s leadership initiative the Women’s International Network for Disaster Risk Reduction (WIN DRR), supported by Australian Aid. 

WIN DRR is a professional network to support women working in disaster risk reduction and is open to all.

The 2023 WIN DRR Leadership Awards will be presented on the International Day for Disaster Risk Reduction, 13 October 2023.

The WIN DRR Excellence Award is proudly sponsored by SM Prime. Please note, the prize money for both the Excellence Award and Rising Star Award will be confirmed at a later date.


Nominations are encouraged from across the WIN DRR network and the broader DRR community. Individuals can nominate themselves or others by completing the below form before the 28 July 2023. Nominees must identify as women and be citizens/permanent residents of Asia-Pacific countries, who are working on disaster risk reduction across the Asia-Pacific region. For the purposes of this award those countries include: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Japan, Kiribati, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Viet Nam.

People who are currently or who have previously worked as UNDRR or DFAT staff in the past are not eligible for the awards, though they are able to nominate others. People who are currently contracted with UNDRR in any capacity (e.g. as an intern, consultant or UNV), and people who are working for organisations that are currently contracted or receiving a grant from UNDRR are also ineligible. 

If you have any questions regarding the awards please contact

Another big congratulations to the 2022 WIN DRR Leadership Award winners Dr. Esline Garaebiti and Dr. Homolata Borah!

The nomination link can be found here:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *